Aberdeen Amateur Athletic Club is led by a constitutionally-defined committee, consisting of volunteers elected at the annual general meeting in the autumn of each year.

DSC_0714Mark Davidson joined AAAC in 1978 after participating in the Aberdeen Primary Schools Sports competition.  Mark was an integral part of the boys’ team, setting club and Scottish records, earning a national vest as part of the Scottish Schools team, and achieving national rankings. Ultimately, Mark earned a trip to the 1990 Commonwealth Games, returning home with a silver medal.  Mark has continued his long association with the club, taking up team manager roles, as his own children joined, as well as coaching and officiating.  Mark is now in his sixth term as club president.

Vice President
Eddie McKenzie

Wendy_Photo1Wendy Arthur is a keen runner, having completed many half marathons and 10k races.  She also enjoys Saturday morning parkruns, often adding extra training miles to the 5k distances.  Her biggest training challenge thus far has been completing the Stirling marathon in 2018.  She has also raised money for various charities, including Streetsport, Cancer Research UK, Northsound’s Cash for Kids, and Clan Cancer Research.  Wendy’s dream is to run the London Marathon while raising money for another worthwhile cause.

Finance Officer
Richard Daniel
DSC_0003 2

Coaching Coordinator
James Joy 2
James Joy began competing for AAAC at the age of 9 and continues to represent the club in middle distance events.  James’ various achievements as a junior athlete include medals at Scottish Schools, Scottish Universities, and Scottish National Championships as well as Scottish representation at the Schools Track and Field International.  James has held various leadership roles within the club since 2007, including his current roles on the committee and as cross country team manager.  James also coaches young club athletes across all disciplines, introducing them to competitive athletics and preparing them for participation into adulthood.

Competition Coordinator
Matt Stephenson

Officials Coordinator
Emma Williams.Emma Williams is in her third year as Officials Coordinator, but has previously contributed to the club as Club Secretary and by fund raising and managing team kit.  Emma has no background in athletics but joined the club because of her daughter who is on the U17 team and loves training. Emma trains with the club now too for fitness, but hopes to compete one day for AAAC. Additionally, Emma helps at AAAC-hosted competitions as an official with administration duties.

Ordinary Committee Members
Ben Nelson

Eoghan MacNamara
DSC_0423 2

Brian MacMillan
DSC_0424 2

John Purcell

Rachel Gordon

Róisín Harrison
DSC_0175 2

Aberdeen Amateur Athletic Club also employs two part-time officers.

Club ManagerDSC_0201
Brian Pahlmann is primarily an administrator, developing the business of the club from behind the scenes since April 2015.  Brian brings to Aberdeen AAC varied experience working with volunteers, coaches, athletes, parents, and administrators. In addition to his leadership experience, Brian has American qualifications in physical therapy and sports medicine, fitness and coaching.

Pathways Development OfficerRuth Watson
Ruth Watson
 began her role with Aberdeen AAC in April 2015, supporting the overall coaching structure and athlete pathway and supporting the recruitment, retention, and education of coaches.  Ruth is also a coach and an athlete with the club.